Skip to content

2010 – A Review of a busy year – Q4

10/01/2011

(Cont’d from Q3 here)

October

Unconvention was upon us.

I was ecstatic to be speaking at this ace event. I attended Unconvention Swansea and loved it. It’s where I’d first met Andrew Dubber, Lykle de Vries, Ben Walker and Steve Lawson (though I’d met him earlier in the week) to name but some… and this time I got to meet a whole load of new awesome people:

Nick FitzsimonsRich Dale, Laura Kidd, Jarvis Cocker, Billy Bragg, Dave Carter and many more… also got to see Clutch Daisy, Jeff Thomson, Ruth Daniel and Simon Harrison again which is good… and I was doing a load of blogging:

November

November started with the first Yorkshire Musicians’ Social Media Surgery (in conjunction withJohn Popham and “Get CTRL” with performances from Gary StewartWilful Missingand David Henshaw

Ed and I went to meet the Music Producers Guild to talk about why exactly they want to ring-fence “Pro” membership (I can’t see any benefits to the Associate Membership category) and didn’t get quite as far as we’d hoped. I think we wanted different things to the directors we met; for the MPG to be a vibrant place with open communications with a broader membership. I feel, as do many producers I know, that the MPG should have a weight and breadth to their membership. The MPG “About” page has a mission statement which says:

“The MPG represents and promotes the interests of all those involved in the production of recorded music…”

Right now however, it’s just not representative, I still feel that they’re promoting a lot of the wrong stuff, and fail to understand what modern music fans and music producers are, and how they behave…

We tried though.

We also tried to catch our train and failed, but we got to hang out with the ace @mikehillier, @mrfurrball, @scottishpenguin and @frankilfman … then straight into the 6K Residential – an annual joy to work with the awesome, vibrant young minds on music they want to make. To show the power of people, we made this single-shot, iPhone video of a song made for sharing.

Speaking of bright young minds, the great “Making it Happen in the Arts” course run by Charlotte Stuart at Lancaster University continued with two sessions on Creative Entrepreneurship with Charlotte and Simon Harrison. I’ll be working with Lancaster Students in the coming months on this too so plenty more to come I hope.

Hannah and I attended a great called the Absolut Experience and blogged about how we can all learn from it’s magnificence here. Truly fantastic.

Also, we went to Simon Wainwright and Lu’s baby Fred’s Christening. Aw.

December

Well three things dominated December. There was the Hope and Social Snowball on the 4th (the 4th seems like a significant date this year, Funbus and Snowball both on 4ths I believe!). There’s plenty more on the prep for those here and here (which are WELL worth a gander), but here’s the lovely Laura Kidd’s video of Living on a Prayer/Looking For Answers:

Then aside from worky work, it was my Birthday, and Christmas and that meant I got this:

Roadworn 1972 Fender Telecaster Custom in Sunburst

Happy Chrimbo me, and a happy new year to y’all!

Stats

So what was I doing online? On thehuxcapacitor.com, the busiest day of the year was October 22nd with 465 views. The most popular post that day was Is turnover the barometer of “Worth”?, thanks in no small part to this tweet from Andrew Dubber. Closely following were EMI and Sony are Not “The Music Industry”, Ed’s controversial Open Letter to The Music Producers Guild and Tim’s So, you’re thinking of starting a music venue?. I posted 437 items on flickr andI tweeted around 3832 times (anyone know how to find this out definitively? I’m using an average here). I played shows with Hope and Social, Gary Stewart, Jason Feddy, The ELFM Next Generation and multifarious young peeps. I recorded with Rosie, The Shadracks, Sky Larkin, Hope and Social, Contra, Jason Feddy, Meet Me In Vegas, Josh Giddings and a bistro full of people. I blogged 40 times across Creativedeconstruction.com, thehuxcapacitor.com and hopeandsocial.com aside from the hypebot.com interview…

All in all…

… Seems like a busy year to me.

;)

Have I missed anything critical out? Any glaring omissions? What was your highlight of 2010? Aaaaand… what’s in store for 2011…?

(TBC)

UPDATE: ‘ve amended the above post (as of 12/01/11) further to an email from Mick Glossop, a director of the MPG. To be clear, Mick has not requested the change, however I feel it only right to remove information he didn’t want contained in the post. I apologise to Mick for any upset caused.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/01/2011 12:18 pm

    Hey Hux, I enjoyed meeting you at Barnaboo’s house party and watching the world cup footy on a large bedsheet in his front room…

    cheers for this; very insightful blogging squire!

  2. 10/01/2011 1:18 pm

    ’tis a pleasure JonniFox.
    ;)
    A good day that, despite the whole getting knowck our of the world cup bit.

    Ah well, at least we’re used to it.
    xR

  3. scaryclaire permalink
    10/01/2011 4:27 pm

    Really enjoyed spending time working with you and the Skipton Songwriters this autumn, thanks :) x

Leave a Reply

